Homes for rent June 22, 2012
As I have pointed out before, Landlord Licensing is nothing more than a TAX!
Here Comes the Judge!
While we were able to keep it from becoming a tax in Kansas City, MO they still did enact a requirement to register your rental property.
Don't Forget -- Rental Registration is required for rental properties in
Kansas City, Missouri.
The City of Kansas City, Mo., is issuing a reminder to owners of rental dwellings
located in the City in an effort to let them know they must renew or establish registration of their rental properties with the City's Neighborhood and Community Services Department on an annual basis. Annual registration of rental properties is part of the Rental Registration and Inspection Program that was established by the City Council, with passage of ordinance No. 071046 in October 2007.
Registration may be submitted anytime during the month of January without incurring
a registration fee. All rental properties must be registered within 30 days of becoming
a rental property. Failure to register a rental dwelling within 30 days of the property
becoming a rental will result in the issuance of an administrative citation fine of $50.
For each month (or portion thereof) that a rental dwelling is not registered, an
additional $50 fee will be assessed. For example, a property that was a rental in
January, and not registered until August, will be assessed a fine of $350.
Registration is required on a calendar-year basis and expires each Dec. 31.
Online registration is available at http://www.kcmo.org/neigh. Registration forms can
be downloaded and submitted by mail or in person. For more information about the
Rental Registration and Inspection Program, visit http://www.kcmo.org/neigh or
contact Shalisha Boles, Neighborhood and Community Services Department, 816-
In October 2007, ordinance No. 071046 was passed requiring that all occupied rental housing units within the City limits of Kansas City, Mo., be registered with the City starting Jan. 1, 2008, and renewed each year. A $50 per month fine for failure to register began Feb. 1, 2008. The current ordinance is online at municode.com.
Registration renewalRegistration renewal may be done anytime during December or January and there is no registration fee. Failure to renew registration of an occupied rental dwelling before February 1 of each year will result in a fine. For each month (or portion thereof) that a registration is not renewed, a $50 fine will be assessed.
Turn-Key Properties LLC
22 years of real estate and property management experience serving Missouri and Kansas.